Malta can be found in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea and consists of an Archipelago of 5 islands: Malta, Gozo, Comino, Cominetto and Filfla. The capital, Valetta, has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site and with its beautiful design and ancient history, has become a popular tourist destination. 

Of the five islands, only 3 are inhabited: Malta, Gozo and Comino.  Malta joined the European Union in 2004 and has been using the Euro since 2008. 

With a population of just over 400 000, Malta is the smallest economy in the Euro zone. The national language is Maltese, however, English is widely spoken as well as some Italian. 

Diverse | Beautiful |Vibrant

Malta is recognized as an international business hub

Malta citizenship by investment

Maltese Lifestyle

Relative to countries such as the UK and France, the cost of living in Malta is relatively low and offers families and individuals a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

LIO Global malta

Maltese Culture and History

Malta gained its independence in 1964 after more than 160 years under British rule and became a republic in 1974. 

Rich in cultural heritage and history, Malta offers much to explore for the learned traveler. Its beautiful historical buildings and architecture have stories to tell.

invest in malta

Education in Malta

Malta also offers schools, a university, as well as excellent medical facilities.

Education is based on the British system and the university is internationally recognized.

Country Info

412 000

Architect 1964

Time Difference
GMT +2hrs

Official Languages
English, Maltese

Age Demographic
0-14: 17%
15-64: 69%
65yrs+: 14%



Euro Currency
Since 2008

Legal System
Roman Civil Law, with English Common Law influence

316 sqare km

Coast Line
196.8 km

Roman Catholic 98%

Find out more about becoming part of the international community of global citizens.